• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How To Crop images into a Circle and add a border using Photoshop

Community Beginner ,
Jul 12, 2024 Jul 12, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I understand how to crop an image into a photo using the Frame Tool, however, I have no idea on how to add a border to a circular image. I've searched the web and YouTube, but haven't found anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

FYI - I've never used Canva before, but I just found this video tutorial and it was very simple to implement the design I was looking for. Maybe this is a learning for me on when to use Canva vs. Photoshop.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hL2_SH75tN4

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It’s a limitation of the Frame tool in Photoshop. It’s a little surprising but right now, you can’t apply a stroke to the frame, and you also can’t work around it by adding a Stroke layer style.

It’s not a problem in other Adobe apps such as InDesign, Illustrator, and After Effects, where it’s easy to add a stroke (border) to a frame or to a path that clips/masks an image.

Hopefully in the future Adobe will upgrade how frames work.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

@Conrad_C  thank you for your response. Yes, I too hope Adobe addresses this in a future update for Photoshop.  Thanks again.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,