• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to Fix Overexposed or Partially Burned Skin

Explorer ,
Jun 14, 2019 Jun 14, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a rank amateur novice. Many times a photo I take will have part of the photo burned to white. I can’t fix the whole picture with Multiply blending. I only need small parts of it fixed.

I found a way to fix burned out facial photos I hope may help others. It can be used in other similar situations.

Below are three images. First is the original with the burned out section. Section is the corrected image. Third is the Layers Panel showing what I did. Ignore the unnecessary extra layers. Please ignore my order since it probably could be better.

Once I'd set all the other treatments I wanted I did the following.

1. I created a mask of the burned portion.

2. I used Select > Modify > Expand ... 15 pixels (set so it includes about ½ of the next level of color).

3. I Refined Edges to create a larger than normal smooth and feathering effect.

4. I added a solid color layer with the layer mask.

5. I color picked a nearby darker part of the image because I knew I was going to reduce the opacity to allow whatever details to bleed through I could.

6. I played with color and opacity until I got a good final image.

By the way, the slight darkening of the image #2 was for other reasons and not enough to fix the initial problem.

Not hard to do, just different than any instructions I’ve found on the Internet.

Overexposed 1.png Overexposed 2.png Overexposed 3.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you have access to the RAW image?

A popular but needlessly wasteful practice is duplicating a Layer to set the copy to a Blend Mode like Multiply or Screen (as need

warrants).