Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to set correct color profile

Engaged ,
Mar 03, 2016 Mar 03, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Up front: I am not an expert on this...

When looking over Internet about color management, color profiles, I often get a lot of text and usually meant for 'experts'.

Actually I am not so much interested in all the technical details. Rather I am seeking a simple instruction as to how 'set' a default color profile.

I don't know how my .icc profiles to select from...

Hardware:

Printer: Epson WorkForce Pro WF-5620  (having its color profiles)

Monitor: HP DreamColor Z27x

Photoshop CS6

Windows 10 x64

When launching my pc, the monitor shows that it is set to AdobeRGB.

Issues:

1) when I browse through simple .png files using Windows Explorer (png files without any EXIF data, let's say, screenshots, or images from Internet) and drag them into Photoshop, they are much darker and I need to adjust this. What Windows Explorer shows is pretty much correct, in Photoshop they are way too dark.

2) when having created a PSD within Photoshop and it all looks okay, the print results are bad, they are too light and I need to try and mess around with profiles or so in an attempt to get it right.

Below some screenshots:

SnagIt-04032016 071646.png

=

SnagIt-04032016 071728.png

=

SnagIt-04032016 071835.png

==

SnagIt-04032016 072910.png

=

Could anybody pleasssee... assist and give me some advice as to how to set this up?

i.e. which profiles to select where so the results on the monitor are the same as that of the printout.

again, I am not an expert and I don't intend to become one 🙂

there are sooo many profiles to select from, I don't know..

Thanks!

=

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer