• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Image placing as wrong size despite "Resize Image During Place" unchecked

New Here ,
Apr 07, 2022 Apr 07, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a 1280x720px project and an image that is 1059px tall I want to place as a layer, and I want it to remain that size to preserve its quality. However when I drag it into the image, it shrinks to 794px tall every time without fail despite "Resize Image During Place" being unchecked. I also have them set to import not as Smart Objects, because I don't know what a Smart Object is (only that you can't edit them, and I am bringing these in with the intent to edit them).

What's baffling me is that this isn't happening universally with every image. Some place just fine. Others shrink dramatically, like a 1280x1280 image shrinking down 293x308px. I have no idea what's going on nor why these images are being resized despite not wanting any resizing to occur.

I am very new to Photoshop but have been using Gimp for years and never encountered this issue, so I am at a loss. Any help for this Photoshop beginner is appreciated!

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Apr 07, 2022 Apr 07, 2022

Place uses the PPI value of each file to determine scale between source and destination.

EDIT: Here is a visual, both images are 500x500px in size, however, one is 300ppi and the other is 150ppi –

place-example.png

You need to normalise all images to the same PPI value if using place and require consistent results.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Apr 07, 2022 Apr 07, 2022