Exit

Increase resolution of photos to at least 200dpi

New Here ,
Jan 07, 2017 Jan 07, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am a novice at photoshop!

I am trying to get a few large (135cm x 90cm) canvases printed but the photos I am submitting are only 97 pixels/inch. I am manually putting in 300dpi (image>image size>resolution), but then my image size shrinks to about 43x29cm. I take my pictures with a Canon 7D, so they should be huge, great quality pictures. I open the page, and save it to my MacBooks 'photos' program, and then import to photoshop from there.

I don't know what I am doing wrong, or how to make my photos "bigger" (more pixels/inch). Any advice would be really appreciated (please use lament terms and/or step by step as I am hopeless!).

Thank you

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 07, 2017 Jan 07, 2017

Is Resample checkmarked in the Image Size dialog? If you set the Resolution to 200 ppi it should keep the size.

Use the Preserve Details setting next to Resample.

Gene

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is Resample checkmarked in the Image Size dialog? If you set the Resolution to 200 ppi it should keep the size.

Use the Preserve Details setting next to Resample.

Gene

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 08, 2017 Jan 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

You are all amazing! Thank you! I hope I will know as much as you all someday.

I checked the 'resample' box.

Thanks again!!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,