• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Keeping variables across runs of a script

New Here ,
Dec 29, 2010 Dec 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Well, I'm a noob at Photoshop scripting. I knew Javascript, and I've been trying to work my way with the Photoshop DOM for about a month, but now I'm trying to do something that I can't find anywhere, neither in Google nor in the documentation... Sorry if this sounds obvious.

First I'm asking to open a PDF file, and then I ask to select a folder where the pages will go. Then I save in an array the file object for the PDF, the folder object, the current page... so I can get it later. Now I open the first page, and stop the script to do some manual work. After that, I would load the script, check if the array where I saved that exists, and if it does, save that page and open the next.

Now, I can't find any way to keep variables between runs of a script, nor to keep the script waiting in the background. Somewhere in the Javascript reference it says that the variables are kept, but every time it asks me to select the PDF again. So I'm kind of lost there. Could you help me?

By the way, I'm using Photoshop CS5, and I script with Javascript.

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Dec 29, 2010 Dec 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First off converting pdfs in Photoshop may be inadvisable depending on the kind of editing you have to do.

Other than that you could always write a txt-file to store the information to some pre-determined location (kind of a preference-file so to speak) and have the Script check for it before the dialog is raised.

If such a file is found you can have the Script evaluate it and when the last page of the pdf is reached remove it.

Hope this is halfway clear …