• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need to Reset Over Exposed Pixels to Luminance 0

Community Beginner ,
May 09, 2024 May 09, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a number of total eclipse photos shot at different shutter speeds. I want to black out (set to luminance of 1 or 0) the totally over exposed pixels in each image before combining them. With the hundreds of tools in PhotoShop, I imagine there is an easy way to do this but I haven't figured it out. I am a beginner at PhotoShop. I normally use Lightroom. I am running Release 25.7.0.

Thanks for the help!

TOPICS
Actions and scripting , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

People's Champ , May 10, 2024 May 10, 2024

Your image looks exactly like what I have imagined. I will try it. I also found a Threshold mode of Subtract which may do the same. Do you know if Subtract is equivalent to Invert plus Darken?

By @Gerald Reisz

Your method is much more convenient than mine. )
No, Darken and Subtract modes are different things.
In Darken mode, the result will be the darkest (per channel) color of the pixel from the current layer and everything under it.
The Subtract mode is the subtraction of pixel values (in each

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
May 09, 2024 May 09, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please post sample images. 

A black Solid Color Layer with the appropriate Blend If-setting might suffice. 

Edit: 

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 08.26.28.pngScreenshot 2024-05-10 at 08.26.40.pngScreenshot 2024-05-10 at 08.26.44.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,