Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop CC 2019 Brush Opacity Issue

New Here ,
Aug 01, 2019 Aug 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

Is anyone else having a problem with a 100% opacity brush when using a layer mask?

In the 2019 Photoshop, whenever I brush in a mask (i.e. using a white brush to make the layer visible) with a 100% brush, it never seems to be 100% opaque. Even when I accidentally brush over parts that are already 100% opaque with a 100% opaque white brush, it makes those parts a tiny bit transparent. It only seems to happen when I'm brushing in the mask (making parts fully visible and opaque), but if I'm brushing out (using a black brush to make the layer invisible), it seems perfectly fine.

I've checked all my pressure, flow and opacity settings but perhaps I'm missing something. I've never had this problem before (I've been using Photoshop since 2010) and I'd hope the new PS wouldn't make something so simple so hard to adjust, but who knows.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you certain the mask layer you are brushing into is set to 100% opacity?

fix.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Jeff! Appreciate the response

Yes, I am quite certain. As mentioned, I only seem to have this problem when making the layer mask "white" (visible). As soon as I use a black brush to make parts of the layer invisible, I have no problems with transparency.