• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Proper resolution for big tarpaulin (7.5 x 3 m)

Community Beginner ,
Nov 05, 2020 Nov 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! Newbie here, just want to ask what is the proper image resolution for printing big tarpaulin of 7.5 x 3 meter. Thanks!

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There is a formula, which I can't remember -- check with your printer, but I would have thought around 50PPI.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Love it Norman,

This conundrum is reminding me of a 'study' I did whilst working  as an advertising photographer for Art Director John Merriman of Collett Dickenson Pearce Advertising in London on an early 80's Silk Cut cigarette campaign.  

The campaign of billboards and magazine spreads used an incredibly complex optical process called "Blocpix".

Here's a piece on Ed Manning:

https://www.atariarchives.org/artist/sec17.php ]

BLOCKPIXâ„¢ of Ralph Nader by Ed Manning.jpg

BLOCKPIXâ„¢ of Ralph Nader by Ed Manning

The process was used to obscure - or, effectively, in modern terms - to pixelate an image - this work pre dated widespread use of computers in imaging. It used an nbetirely optical process originally conceived by a scientist at Bell Labs named Leon Harmon, our work was done by Ed Manning, [quite a boffin - friend of Edwin Land & Robert Oppenheimer], who was based in Connecticut.