• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Remove seam on composite photo

Explorer ,
Jul 28, 2023 Jul 28, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I took two pictures of the night sky and I am trying to stich them together to make like a sort of mosaic/vertical panorama.

I'm pretty new to Photoshop, and wondering if there is a way to remove the seam accross the middle of the photo.  There is some vignetting, but mainly i'm trying to get rid of the harsh horizonal line.  So far everything i've tried makes it look worse.

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 28, 2023 Jul 28, 2023

Are the two layers part of a photomerge, or are they unrelated?

Even if the latter, I'd be inclined to try selecting the two layers, and going Edit > Auto Blend Layers

I have no idea if this will work if the layers are not part of a photo merge.  The problem, as you are finding, is that the difference is not consistent, which makes masking really difficult.

image.png

I'd be inclined to try the dodge and burn tools, but make sure you have the right tonal range selected, as the results look muddy and nasty

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ideally there would be some overlap between the first two layers (layers 3+4).  Then use a layer mask with the brush set to 1%-5% flow to paint black along the seam to feather it, and you should be good to go.  Let me know if any of that doesn't make sense!

Cheers

George F, Fine Art Landscape Photographer

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied