• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script to Save Work Path as Normal Path

Community Beginner ,
Feb 15, 2017 Feb 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am totally new to scripting. I thought I would try to work out something simple first, to get my feet wet. But I can't seem to understand how to make the script do what I want. Essentially, I just need it to see if there is a work path in the document, and, if so, save it as a normal path.  Any help would be appreciated.

If it matters, I have been trying to do this in Java. I may give Applescript a shot later.

Thanks,

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Engaged , Feb 15, 2017 Feb 15, 2017

Hi tJohnson,

Try this code...

activeDocument.pathItems.getByName("Work Path").name="Path 1";

- yajiv

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Feb 16, 2017 Feb 16, 2017

I would wrap that code in a try/catch block, as if there isn't a workpath, an error would be thrown. You could also change the name to:

.name = 'path ' + activeDocument.pathItems.length

in an attempt to auto name the path, so if you happen to already have a Path 1, the dialogbox won't come up to have you rename the path.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Engaged ,
Feb 15, 2017 Feb 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi tJohnson,

Try this code...

activeDocument.pathItems.getByName("Work Path").name="Path 1";

- yajiv

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Feb 16, 2017 Feb 16, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied