• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

scripting for Photoshop (how to write Javascript code to "open" a file, and "save as")

Explorer ,
Aug 21, 2023 Aug 21, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys,

I am new to scripting for Photoshop. I am using Javascript.

How do I write code in Javascript to open a file (e.g. a jpeg) in Photoshop? And how do I write code to save it as e.g. a PSD, EPS etc?

Will really appreciate the help.

Thanks.

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Engaged , Jan 24, 2024 Jan 24, 2024

Thanks Stephen, let me give @Joseph25509234xr72 some extra-context.

The scripting code in the replies above is ExtendScript (an Adobe-proprietary flavour of JS based on a very old language specification). Since late 2020, Photoshop has been transitioning to UXP, which uses modern JavaScript. ExtendScript is going to be faded out (ETA not available), in favour of UXP. Please note: the two are not compatible with each other.

I have a series of videos available on YouTube for free about UXP, if you w

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 21, 2023 Aug 21, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It depends on whether you want to use Document Object Model- or Action Manager-code. 

This pdf should cover the DOM-methods (for document in the case of saving as, for application in the case of opening a file). 

photoshop-javascript-ref-2020.pdfGitHubhttps://github.com › blob › master › Documentation

Screenshot 2023-08-21 at 16.08.17.pngScreenshot 2023-08-21 at 16.08.45.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines