Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shading/Masking Land or Ocean on a Map

New Here ,
Dec 26, 2016 Dec 26, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm brand new to PhotoShop (only on a trial right now), but I'm trying to see if the software can do what I want for doing weather maps.

What I'm trying to do is precipitation forecast maps, where land would be shaded based on rainfall/snowfall ranges (i.e. 3-6 inches, 6-12 inches, etc.) with each range colour coded. But, I want to do this shading only over land, so I'm hoping there is something in PhotoShop that will either allow me to only shade land areas or to do shaded contours that may go over the ocean, but I can apply a mask that will remove any of the shading over water.

I'm hoping that someone can help me see if PhotoShop is able to do this or not.

Thanks

Brian

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Dec 26, 2016 Dec 26, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One idea is the Clipping Mask, pretty easy to create.

Create a Clipping Mask in Photoshop (Great For Bloggers!)

Simple example:  Use Layer > Create Clipping Mask and Layer > Release Clipping Mask to return the Layer to normal.

You would use the Move Tool on the  Precip layer to move your shading into position on the map.

You can make masks for the Ocean areas, and hide those when you don't want them by clicking the Eyeball on the layer.

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 12.02.39 AM.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 27, 2016 Dec 27, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

And maybe experiment with Blending Modes so the underlying map can be seen.

Votes

Translate

Translate