• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

To have the same colors in Photoshop and on the Web

Participant ,
May 16, 2022 May 16, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As far as I know (I'm not a pro), it seems there are two ways to achieve the same colors between the image you see in Photoshop and the same image after you save it for Web (File > Save for Web) and upload on a website.

The first way is to check "Embed Color Profile" and "Convert to sRGB" check boxes in the "Save for Web" window. Using the first way, you make the exported JPEG as bright as it is in Photoshop.

The second way is somewhat opposite. You need to click "View > Proof Setup", and then select "Internet Standard RGB" or maybe "Monitor RGB". (I'm not sure which one. This is one another thing I want to consult here about.) And then you also need to set a checkmark on "View > Proof Colors". Using the second way, you make the colors in the Photoshop as dull as they will be if you save your image for web (File > Save for Web) with both "Embed Color Profile" and "Convert to sRGB" check boxes unchecked.

Which way is prefered: the first, the second, or some another?

One guy on Internet answered that "the first way isnt really a way at all, its more like let me do random transform on image and hope it dont screw things much. It does nothing to keep colors that are outside the are a of sRGB, or even control how to convert them. This method fine if you dont expect colors to come out the same, which is not your question. The second way you suggest is just plain nonfunctional."

But he haven't provide a solution that is good from his own point of view.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 16, 2022 May 16, 2022