• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Transferring CS6 to New Macbook

New Here ,
Feb 02, 2020 Feb 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Adobe Community, I hope someone can give me a definitive answer to this. I have a full license to the Creative Suite CS6 that I purchased and have registered in my name since late 2013. I'm a professional traveling photographer and it has been my primary production tool on my Macbook Air which it has always been installed in since late 2013. CS6 is still my primary production tool as I don't have Internet in my home and any subscription service is unaffordable at this time. My Macbook Air has battery issues and is now a liability and I must upgrade. I'm only looking at new Macbooks because I own this CS6 suite already and it still meets all of my needs and then some. I will only invest in a new Macbook if I know for a fact that my existing license will transer to a new a computer. I don't have installation CD's, I purchased a digital download version of my software from Adobe. Can this be done? I've heard conflicting answers some saying no, because Adobe will no longer honor the old software. If I can transfer, what will be the steps I need to take? Thank you very, very much for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 02, 2020 Feb 02, 2020

Your new Mac will be running macOS Catalina which has zero support for 32 bit software. It will only install and run 64 bit apps.

Although Photoshop CS6 comes in 64 bit, unfortunately the installer and other components are 32 bit so CS6 will not install or run on Catalina. Adobe has no plans to make CS6 Catalina-comptaible.