• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Unable to save file as PSD - PS says the file is over 2GB when it's not

Community Beginner ,
Jan 23, 2014 Jan 23, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a PSD that I've been working on for many months. This week I got a new computer. When I open this file on my new computer, I am unable to save it as a PSD. The file size, according to Windows Explorer, is 600MB. According to PS CC's Document Size displayed at the bottom of the Document Window, the document size is 288.4M / 1.77G. Yet when I try to save this file on my new computer, I get this error:

Could not save as "filename.psd" because the document is bigger than 2 gigabytes.
See help topic "Saving Files" for more information.

I don't understand how I've been working on this document for the last several months and never had a problem with saving it, yet now on my new computer, it is unable to save. My new computer has a secondary SSD harddrive that I am using as the primary scratch disk. The new computer also has more RAM and a better processor. I had copied all of my preferences files from the old computer to the new, and I don't see any settings that are different between the two computers. Can anyone please provide some direction?

(Note: I've been running PS CC x32 because the x64 version isn't stable on my computer.)

File size as displayed in Windows Explorer: 600,941KB.

NEW: Document size as displayed in Document Window: 288.4M / 1.77G
OLD: Document size as displayed in Document Window: 288.4M / 1.77G

NEW: Adobe Photoshop Version: 14.2 (14.2 20131211.r.515 2013/12/11:23:00:00) x32
OLD: Adobe Photoshop Version: 14.1.2 (14.1.2 20130923.r.427 2013/09/23:23:00:00) x32

NEW: Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
OLD: Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit

NEW: Version: 6.1 Service Pack 1
OLD: Version: 6.1 Service Pack 1

NEW: Physical processor count: 4
OLD: Physical processor count: 8

NEW: Logical processor count: 8