Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using .js scripts to launch Photoshop

New Here ,
Feb 24, 2010 Feb 24, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi I'm kind of new to this Photoshops scripts field

and would like to  write an external application (.NET based) that would be able to invoke  the Photoshop application and run Photoshop .js scripts on it and then return the reply to some other external application.

I would like to now if and how it is possible to executes scripts  that  way? It is obvious that I could launch the Photoshop application by  calling the .exe file. But how do I run the script and retrieve data  such as status of the script, errors, etc.

Any  idea's???

Thanks

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Valorous Hero ,
Feb 24, 2010 Feb 24, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are going to run external JavaScript from .NET you will not be able to get the details unless the script writes the details to a file and you read that. The alternative is to use .NET to talk to Photoshop direct, then you can get the results/errors and pass on the data to your other apps.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Feb 25, 2010 Feb 25, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

OK

But how can I do this? (use the .NET to invoke and operate Photoshop functions)

Do I need to use the SDK or are there other Photoshop API's that I can use?

Yair

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Valorous Hero ,
Feb 25, 2010 Feb 25, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied