Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Wine bottle mesh - can I edit the cap material

Explorer ,
Dec 08, 2017 Dec 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I'm a newbie to PS 3D and would like to either adjust the cap material of the 3d wine bottle extrusion preset to be a screwcap or create one from scratch.

Could anyone please advise on either point?

When I try to adjust the material using transform, it says no pixels have been selected. If  I paint it doesn't make any difference even after saving. I'm currently very confused!!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 08, 2017 Dec 08, 2017

Hi Phil

The cap is a separate object in the 3D space so you can turn it on and off in the 3D panel. Then you could easily create a new cap model on a separate layer - and merge the 3D layers to bring it into the same space.

You will need to learn the 3D tools to do this and I would recommend you follow the videos at the site below which give a good introduction, including making a bottle from scratch.  They refer to CS6 , but in 3D not much has changed since the changes from CS5 to CS6.

https://design.tutsplus.com/series/using-photoshops-3d-capabilities--psd-18886

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Transform doesn't work with 3D layers. You would need to create a new cap, which would not be easy in PS; although, it might be possible.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Chuck,

Would you advise illustrator for the job of creating one?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines