• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe PhotoShop Elements Organizer - Is there a way to copy IPTC dat between fields?

Explorer ,
Jan 08, 2022 Jan 08, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to move my photo collection from another organizer into Adobe Elements Organizer 2022.  In my old organizer, it saved the captions to the Document Title IPTC field.  It appears that Elements uses the Description IPTC field.  Is there any easy way to copy the data from one field to another?

I have some PowerShell experience if there is a way to do it programatically.

Thanks for any input anyone can provide.

TOPICS
How to , Organizer , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jan 09, 2022 Jan 09, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to move my photo collection from another organizer into Adobe Elements Organizer 2022.  In my old organizer, it saved the captions to the Document Title IPTC field.  It appears that Elements uses the Description IPTC field.  Is there any easy way to copy the data from one field to another?

I have some PowerShell experience if there is a way to do it programatically.

Thanks for any input anyone can provide.

By @yoodlethenoodle

There is no way in the organizer to manage exif and IPTC data like in Exiftool or similar management softwares which allow batch copying some fields to other ones.

You can 'write metadata to files', which writes the data in the catalog into the metadata section of your photo file (or in the sidecar xmp file of your raws).

You can batch apply some constant fields in the IPTC (author etc.) from templates you save for that use. That's about all.