• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How Do I Make a Ring (Hollow Circle)

Apr 20, 2009 Apr 20, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm pretty new to Photoshop.  I've used Premiere Elements a bit longer.

I want to put a red ring (hollow circle) over something in Permiere.  I understand how to make transparant areas with solid objects such as circles and stars.  I want to essentially make a .png of a circle with both the outside transparant and a second circle in the middle which is also transparant.  I know how to put it into Permiere after that.

I've struggled for three hours in trial and error and searching documentation and tutorials.  I don't see how to remove a circular area from a larger circle on a transparant background.

Thanks

Janis

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One possible way is to use the Custom Shape tool, and choose the "ring" from there.

Option 2: Chose the eliptical marquee tool, and press shift as you drag to keep a perfect circle. Then, go to Edit->Stroke and pick your color and the width you want for your ring. You may have to experiment with the width setting - just use ctrl-Z to undo, and then Edit->Stroke to try again.

-Trish

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Trish

Thanks for your response.

Regarding option 2,seems to work but for those reading this thread looking

for instruction, it is necessary to continue holding down shift after

drawing the circle in order to have access to the "Stroke" option of the

elipse.

Regarding option 1, I still don't see anything that resembles a ring in