• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Premiere timeline/UI performance has been getting worse

Explorer ,
Aug 16, 2023 Aug 16, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a professional video editor and use the Adobe Suite to get everything out of my brain and into a video. Over the last year and a bit I've noticed a trend that really worries me for the future, performance in the latest versions of Premiere (especially on windows) on complex timelines is practically unusable.

I want to preface this post;
I use premiere on both macOS (at work) and windows (at home). The mac being an m1 studio and my windows pc being a 5900x, 3070ti, 64GB of ram and only solid state storage. All projects get rendered to proxies and only get worked on off of them. The rest of work uses v23 project files so for the most part I'm also using v23 (I don't often need to work from home). I've done all the typical troubleshooting steps like wiping cache/plugin cache, resetting workspaces, reinstalling, etc, etc.

My main complaint really is skewed more towards windows, v23.5/6 on macOS is.. at least usable, during the cutting phase, and then utilising rendering previews beyond that is slow but works. But windows continues to trend in the opposite direction.
Here is a tweet showing just a slice of what it's like to work in v23.6 on windows: [link1]
and here's the exact same project file after using a web tool to downgrade the project file to open it in v22.3.1: [link2]
I apologise for the harsh wording in the tweets but as you can imagine, trying to deal with this in the middle of a work day is incredibly frustrating when I have deadlines that need to be hit.