Skip to main content
Known Participant
Oct 10, 2023 8:49 PM UTC
Needs More Info

P: Photoshop 25.2 & up Could not complete the assign profile command because the ICC profile invalid

ICC input profiles that work in PS 2023 open an invaild error in PS 2024 and cannot be assigned.

 

Link to profile could not attach .icc file.

 

https://we.tl/t-h1VaDrYqox

 

Thank you.

David Remington

 

{Thread title renamed by moderator}

63 replies

Known Participant
Dec 21, 2023 4:33 PM UTC

Running Photoshop 25.3 and latest Mac OS

Trying to use edit with Photoshop from Mac Photos - always worked but today I got the below error when trying to edit with an Apple ProRaw Photo shot in Night Mode:

 

Translate
Known Participant
Dec 21, 2023 3:15 PM UTC

Thanks Sameer!

Translate
Sameer K
Community Manager
Community Manager
Dec 20, 2023 6:46 PM UTC

The team is looking into this now. Thanks for sharing the details. 

Translate
Known Participant
Dec 16, 2023 2:26 PM UTC

Hi Sameer, I tagged it with the OS because posts required a tag and there was not one that specifically fit this bug. This error pops up in the latest PS 25.3.1. It does not happen in older versions. I use the extended support 24.7.2 as backup. I have spoked to several colleagues and they confirm this bug happens with all or most input profiles. Here is a link to the system info text file and a PSD image. You can use any RGB image to test. Use Edit>Assign Profile...

 

https://we.tl/t-h0AQ5Ix3f0

 

Thank you.

David

 

 

Translate
Sameer K
Community Manager
Community Manager
Dec 15, 2023 5:02 PM UTC

Hey, @David29028790hcy4. Thanks for adding the profiles. You've tagged Windows & macOS. We'll need more info. Please share a sample PSD & the system info from Photoshop Help > System info > Copy & paste into a text document > upload & attach here. 

 

Also, include a screenshot of the error you see. Photoshop 25.3.1 just went live recently, check if the issue exists.

 

Thanks!

Sameer K

Translate
Participating Frequently
Dec 15, 2023 11:36 AM UTC

I updated to version 25.2 yesterday and got persistent 'Invalid Profile' messages when using my ICC profile intensive workflow, specifically when assigning a scanner profile to an image.

 

I updated to v 25.3 this morning and i had the same issue.

 

Going back to v 25.1 fixes the issue.

Translate
Sameer K
Community Manager
Community Manager
Dec 15, 2023 5:07 PM UTC

Hey, @Chris_Giclee. Thanks for sharing the details. We'll need more info. Please share the system info from Photoshop Help > System info > Copy & paste into a text document > upload & attach here. 


I'll move this to discussions for now. If possible, share the ICC profiles & a video showing the workflow. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

 

Thanks!

Sameer K

Translate
Inspiring
Nov 30, 2023 4:38 PM UTC

I have been using custom icc profiles for images using assign profile and this has worked great until updated to 25.2 30 Nov 2023. After the update my custom icc profiles do not appear in the list. I have an action that assigns the correct profile and when I use the action I get the invalid icc profile message...although this could be because Photoshop is not seeing them any longer.

 

Why are my icc and icm profiles not displaying in the Photoshop assign or convert profile list?

 

Thanks,

Mike

Translate
Inspiring
Nov 30, 2023 4:39 PM UTC

When I went back to Photoshop 25.1 the profiles work again.

Translate
Participant
Oct 17, 2023 2:19 PM UTC

Wenn ich eine Datei in Camera Raw bearbeitet habe und sie dann in Photoshop (Version 25.0 ) öffnen will bekomme ich folgenden Hineis: "ICC-Profil kann nicht eingebettet werden weil das ICC-Profil ungültig ist. Das Profil wird ignoriert."

Das ist der Fall seit ich auf Camera Raw  v 16.0 aktualisiert habe.

Um meine Datei in Photoshop weiter bearbeiten zu können muss ich die Anwendung schließen, und die Datei in Camera Raw erneut öffnen.

Photoshop (Version 25.0 )

Camera Raw  v 16.0

Windows 11

Translate
Participant
Oct 10, 2023 8:49 PM UTC

Hello,

 

Im running into a lil problem when wanting to open a file to edit on photoshop. Ive looked everywhere and i cannont find a solution, i have a macbook pro and recently updated software. after updating software i started running into this pronblem, i also have the new 2024 photoshop... it says 

"The embedded ICC profile cannot be used because the ICC profile version is not supported.  Ignoring the profile." 

 

i would really appreciate it if i can get some help from the Adobe Community!

Translate
Sameer K
Community Manager
Community Manager
Oct 19, 2023 6:29 PM UTC

Hey @Augustin Bras. Welcome to the Photoshop Community. I'll help you figure this out.

Are you using an external monitor with the MBP? Does this happen with a specific series of documents, or do all documents behave similarly when opened in Photoshop?

 

This could sometimes be related to a corrupted monitor color profile. Try changing the color profile for your MacBook or the external display: https://adobe.ly/48UklyB

 

 

Keep Photoshop closed while you do this.

 

Thanks!
Sameer K

Translate
Participant
Dec 22, 2023 1:12 PM UTC

Hello Sameer 

 

i am having a similar problem. i am exporting a phase one file using the Icc profile in capture one.  Now photoshop 2024 is saying it cant open the Tiff file. this has literally happened overnight.  how can i open these files now ?  and why has one adobe update caused this problem ?

any advise woul;d be great

best 

 

peter 

Translate