Skip to main content
bellevue scott
Inspiring
February 25, 2026
Released

P: PS 27.4 Setting the default in Preferences > Units to "inches" is ignored by Canvas Size

Adobe Photoshop Version: 27.4.0 2
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit

 

When I go to Image → Canvas Size, the default is always pixels. I want it to be inches. 

Note: I have checked in preferences, units and measures, and the default is inches. Also when I go to image → Image size, the default is in fact inches, which is what I expect. 

 

Is the default unit for image → canvas size now different? Is there a different place to set it? 

 

thanks

    Pinned Reply By Srishti Bali

    Hi ​All

     

    We’ve fixed this issue in our latest release, Photoshop 27.11. Please update Photoshop to the latest version and let us know how it goes.

    For more details about this release, please see the Photoshop 27.11 release announcement.

    107 replies

    jane-e
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    March 9, 2026

    ​@Tazing “My default units is millimetres…”

     

    Adobe is aware and is investigating. The workaround until it is fixed is to disable “Modern User Interface”  in Preferences > Technology Previews.

     

    Jane

    Translate
    Rosh33691786wu7i
    Participant
    March 16, 2026

    this helped. tysm 

    Translate
    jane-e
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    March 17, 2026

    You’re welcome ​@Rosh33691786wu7i . I’m glad this works for you!

    Jane

    Translate
    Legend
    March 9, 2026

     

    Translate
    Participant
    March 9, 2026

    My default units is millimetres and canvas size always displayed as millimetres but now going to canvas size, its default display is pixels, I think this happened with the recent update, so each time I have to go and make a change, I need to change the units.  Any ideas on how to permanently change it back to the default to millimetres?

    Translate
    D Fosse
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    March 5, 2026

    This has been reported several times recently. Apparently it’s a bug in the “Modern User Interface”, which you can disable in Preferences > Technology Previews. Then you get the old dialog back.

    Translate
    Participant
    March 8, 2026

    BLESS YOU!!!!!!!!  Was driving me nuts.  And thank you for pointing out where to look for the setting in the Preferences sub settings / section.

    Translate
    Known Participant
    March 5, 2026

    Recently, possibly since a recent update, the Canvas Size dialog in photoshop looks different: smaller, uglier, and defaults to pixels no matter what my units are set to.

    Was always on my default unit settings.

    Seems Adobe cant resist making changes for worse?

    Translate
    Legend
    March 3, 2026

    Try disabling the Modern User Interface in Preferences/Settings. Apparently there are issues with changes not being retained.

    Translate
    Dave Cullen Photography
    Inspiring
    March 4, 2026

    Thank you so much ​@ExUSA !   It worked!  amazing what a simple tick box can do!   Appreciate your help :)

    Translate
    jane-e
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    March 4, 2026

    ​@Dave Cullen Photography 

     

    Adobe is aware. See this primary thread in Bug Reports for details:

    https://community.adobe.com/bug-reports-711/p-ps-27-4-setting-the-default-in-preferences-units-to-inches-is-ignored-by-canvas-size-1551535

     

    EDIT: this thread has now been merged with the Primary thread in Bug Reports.

     

    Jane

     

     

    Translate
    Dave Cullen Photography
    Inspiring
    March 3, 2026

    Hello

     

    I recently had to reinstall Photoshop (thanks to an Adobe expert screwing up the settings then he left the chat!)

     

    I am looking to change my default CANVAS SIZE from Pixels to CM.  I have already got the preferences / units set to CM and when I change the IMAGE SIZE its automatically coming up as CM, however when I go into CANVAS SIZE its always pixels..  I have no idea how to get it back to CM.

     

    Its a weird one, no idea how it happen or how I go about getting it back.

     

    Also my scratch disc options are no longer allowing me to add a second scratch disc - any one able to help on this please?

     

    Thanks 

     

    Dave

    Translate
    jane-e
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    March 5, 2026

    ​@Dave Cullen Photography wrote: Also my scratch disc options are no longer allowing me to add a second scratch disc - any one able to help on this please?

     

    Dave, can you start a new thread for this “also” part of your question? Your posts were moved by staff to the Primary thread and this part of your question is buried. Please add screenshots and include details about the disk you are trying to add so we can better assist.

     

    Jane

    Translate
    Jeff Arola
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    March 2, 2026

    Until Adobe fixes the issue you can go to Edit>Preferences>Technology Previews, uncheck Enable Modern User Interface and restart Photoshop.

     

    On the Mac side go to Photoshop 2026>Settings>Technology Previews, uncheck Enable Modern User Interface and restart Photoshop.

    Translate
    Majestic_cbgg
    Participant
    March 3, 2026

    Until Adobe fixes the issue you can go to Edit>Preferences>Technology Previews, uncheck Enable Modern User Interface and restart Photoshop.

     

    On the Mac side go to Photoshop 2026>Settings>Technology Previews, uncheck Enable Modern User Interface and restart Photoshop.

    亲测有效,非常感谢

    Translate
    Majestic_cbgg
    Participant
    March 2, 2026

    画布大小中的默认单位无法修改,始终关闭后会恢复成像素

    Translate
    Participant
    February 26, 2026

    Thanks everyone! ​@Jeff Arola’s tip worked. ​@Sameer K I appreciate you sharing this with your team. 

    Translate