• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Windows 10 File Explorer operations very slow with PDF files

Explorer ,
Mar 12, 2020 Mar 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a reasonably high spec PC running Windows 10, all up to date, and I have an Adobe CC subscription. I also have PDF thumbnails turned on for Explorer (which I need).

Any time I try to Move or Rename a file in Explorer, it takes an AGE, sometimes it just hangs (as it has just done trying to rename a PDF). Moving just a very simple small file (<500kb) into a subfolder can cause Explorer to 'gather information for ages, with a silly graph showing how little it is doing!

Other file types move with ease - this is PDF specific.

I also find opening a file by double clicking it in Explorer (or using the context menu) can take forever, again, even for small files.

I've tried uninstalling Acrobat / Reinstalling / disabling Thumbnail preview etc. No joy so far.

Very frustrating.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 12, 2020 Mar 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Wow - that's really bizarre.  Just to test it here, I enabled the feature, and Acrobat actually did a mini install routine in order to have this feature active.  But mine is working properly.  I have noticed that Windows 10 has had quite a few updates/patches recently.  Did this ever work properly on that machine before?  Or has it always been a problem?  If I can uncover any info on this, I'll post back.

My best,

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Apr 15, 2020 Apr 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Dave