Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

[How To] Fresco on Windows - Canvas limitation

Explorer ,
Nov 10, 2022 Nov 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm not sure whether this is a stupid question, but I'm quite new to digital painting. I have a sort of dilemma when setting up a new drawing, I'm always troubled by the same thing, the choice of resolution and size. I usually draw stuff that I intend to print in bigger formats, going at A2 paper size(more or less). But, I saw doing so limits greatly the usability of the app, as with 300 dpi, it has more than 4000 pixels. This concurrently limits the use of specific tools ( the smudge tools get slow, and the live paint just lets me know that I need to lower it to be under 4000, and frankly the app crashes randomly as well). For the info I'm drawing on a Surface Pro 8 the 16 GB model, I'm aware that it isn't the strongest device but I still enjoy drawing on it, and frankly, when I'm in a more limited DPI and canvas size the painting experience is rather enjoyable.

What can I do in this case? Should I start in a lower resolution and heighten it when I decide that a piece is "finished"? Should I just accept my defeat and dream/ print smaller? Is there any trick I do not know?

I did try other apps for painting, but Fresco for me is the best one to be used without a keyboard, with Photoshop, even with the tablet pro pen tool is sort of "fiddly" ...

[Renamed by Mod]

TOPICS
Canvas settings , Device , Live brushes , Performance , Pixel Brushes , Publish & export , Tools , Vector Brushes

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 10, 2022 Nov 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied