• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to copy paste screenshot (bitmap) to Illustrator without loosing image resolution?

New Here ,
Jul 05, 2017 Jul 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been using Adobe Fireworks for many years and now I'm trying to learn the Illustrator. When I copy paste bitmap to Fireworks (for example screenshot) the pasted image looks in the Fireworks exactly the same as the on the original screenshot. But when I paste the same image to Illustrator the quality of the pasted image is lousy. See the comparison from the attached image. The zoom level is 100% in both. How should I paste screenshot to Illustrator without loosing the quality or is this even possible?

Adobe Fireworks vs Illustrator.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 05, 2017 Jul 05, 2017

That shows your original image pixel size is 870 X 404 pixels.

it also shows that it has been scaled to 652,418 X 302,962 points (which is the same as pixels in Illustrator).

If you want to have the original size:

Select the image

In the Transform panel constrain the W and H Proportions.

Type 870 for the Width.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Maybe there is a difference in resolution?

Is the size in pixels the same?

Illustrator pastes as 72 ppi, pasting the same in Photoshop makes it 144 ppi.

What happens if you scale it 50% in Illustrator?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard