• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to make a pattern into a compound path in AI

Explorer ,
Mar 19, 2015 Mar 19, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am brand new to AI so please bear with me if this is a very simple question, but I just cannot figure it out. I have about 200 .eps black and white seamless patterns. I have added a few of them to the swatches area so I can fill shapes with my patterns. I can do that no problem. But what I want to do is make the finished patterned-filled shape into a compound path so I can save as an svg and import into my vinyl cutting software. Can anyone explain how I would do this?

[Moved from the generic Cloud forum to the Illustrator forum... Mod]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 19, 2015 Mar 19, 2015

If simply saving it as SVG does not work, do this:

1. Object>Expand
  2. Deselect all
  3. Select>Object>Clipping Mask
  4. Delete
  5. Select all
  6. Object>Flatten Transparency>Accept default settings (this will eliminate unwanted groups)
  7. Object>Compound Path>Make

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Mar 19, 2015 Mar 19, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

1. Object>Expand
  2. Deselect all
  3. Select>Object>Clipping Mask
  4. Delete
  5. Select all
  6. Object>Flatten Transparency>Accept default settings (this will eliminate unwanted groups)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Mar 21, 2015 Mar 21, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Saving as an svg does not work. I just get the image without any cut lines (anchor points) in my outside software.