Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Strokes are placed inside the image instead of just outside

New Here ,
Jan 14, 2017 Jan 14, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am trying to place strokes on the outside of this dog image that I downloaded on shutterstock. However, every time I attempt to do so, the strokes get added to the inside of the dog structure as well as on the outside. I would only like the strokes to be placed on the outside.

Doggy.png

This is my first time using Adobe Illustrator software so I cannot accurately describe what is happening with respect to the strokes. The original image is made up of polygons, and when the stroke techniques are applied they follow along the various paths that exist within the image. I ONLY want the strokes to be placed along the outside edges. If anyone could help me with this issue, I would greatly appreciate it.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 14, 2017 Jan 14, 2017

Hi. When adding strokes to items, Illustrator considers each item as separate, by default. However there is one workaround you can try, and one that will definitely work (but will eliminate the polygons - although that might be fixable, too). There're several other methods that can be used, but I'm offering what I consider the simplest solutions.

1) Select all the polygons (you can use the selection tool to drag a rectangle around all of them and they'll all be selected. Now, I haven't tried this

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied