• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can you lock text color for specific text boxes within a thread?

Community Beginner ,
May 08, 2019 May 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Generally new to Indesign and not sure how to figure this out. I'm working on a document that has multiple threads of text. Below is an example of two text boxes I have that are threaded together (left to right) but I have a problem. I'm trying to find a way to make it so the text in the box on the right side is always white. Is there a way that I can make it so whenever text is entered, or pushed, or added to the right side text box it will automatically turn white? And vise versa the text on the left always stays black?

I ask this because I'm a finicky designer and shift the assets around a lot. If (for example) I were to shorten the length of the text box on the left, it will in response push the excluded text to the box on the right, which will mean even if I just manually change the specific text in the right text box to white I'll need to manually fix every length of text's color if I decide to shift assets around (second example below shows the result of shortening the left text box).

Screen Shot 2019-05-08 at 9.39.35 AM.png

Screen Shot 2019-05-08 at 9.40.37 AM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Guide , May 09, 2019 May 09, 2019

Well, yes... sorry Michel, but it's also what I think.

I could rephrase your sentence as "Do you really think we need to use such a way script here?"

However, I'm not even sure you need a script for a Print-Intent document.