• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Page inset on master doesn't apply to document page

Engaged ,
Jul 23, 2021 Jul 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a book designer, and I have master pages set up for most instances, including for when chapters start on either a recto or verso page. At the beginning of chapters, I usually use a 1/4 to 1/3 page sink before the text begins. In the book I'm currently designing, I have set my chapter-start master page sinks at an 8-pica inset from the top of the text frame. The sink (or inset) shows on the master page. But when I apply that master page to a page of text, the 8-pica inset is not created. I have to manually apply an object style (which I've set up with a shortcut). It's only a couple of extra keystrokes, but it is annoying that the master page is set up exactly as I wish but the inset just doesn't happen. For the most part, I have never had problems with master pages. This is the first time I've run into this kind of thing. I am probably missing some small but critical trick or setting.

Just to be clear, I've tried this two different ways:  1) I manually applied the page sink to the master page, and 2) I applied the actual object style to the master page. Neither approach makes any difference. The sink just does not appear when I apply the master.

Thanks in advance for any ideas. 🙂

TOPICS
How to , Print , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 24, 2021 Jul 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Typically for books I have 2 master pages.

1st master page is for page 1 - with margins set at the sink level

2nd master page is for the rest of the text. 

Then all chapters are combined as separate files in the Book Panel.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines