• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Fix Aspect Ratio after Vertical & Horizontal Transform

Community Beginner ,
Jan 15, 2022 Jan 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is a specific problem that I don't think I've seen treated.

I use Photoshop Lightroom Classic Release 11.1

I'm a painter, and I take photos of my paintings.  Usually there will be a bit of horzontal or vertical distortion from the camera angle, so my image of the paitning will be a trapezoid or a quandrilateral instead of a rectangle. 

I used to correct for this by combinations of Crop/Rotate and Transform Veritical and/or Horizontal .  Recenlty I'm using the newish Transform "Guided" method by drawing "guides" along each of the four edges, which really snaps into a nice rectangle.

My issue is that after I've made the image of the painting rectangular, it's usually not in the same exact aspect ratio as the painting is.

And I don't want to use a crop to force it into the desired aspect because I don't want to shave off part of my image, nor do I want to add white padding along any of the edges.

Evidently I want to use the tranform Aspect slider.  Two snags:  (a) there's no numerical read out of the aspect on the apsect slider tool (b) the aspect slider may put some part of the image out over the edges.

Solution.

(1) Use the Scale slider to make my image a bit smaller so that I have some extra white space around it (2) Go to the Crop tool and select a crop that's in the apsect ratio I want, possibly creating a Custom crop if needed.   Now crop around my white-bordered image with the aspect-locked crop tool, not removing any of my painting rectangle.  

(3) Now I have an image with the right aspect, but my rectngualar painting doesn't fill the image. So I use the aspect slider and perhaps the scale slider until I've managed to fill the properly scalled image with my painting.  Still perfecting this...

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines