• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Installing a hard copy serial number on a new laptop?

New Here ,
Aug 13, 2022 Aug 13, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey folks, I'm a complete newb so please excuse my lack of knowledge! I bought a hard copy of LR 6 years ago. I still have the installation CD and serial number. I recently purchased a new Macbook. I used my serial number and installed LR6 on my older laptop. But now as I try to enter this serial number in my Adobe account, under product, it says the serial number is already in use...  I basically want to have LR installed on my new macbook, using the serial number i have, without having to subscribe to a cloud based version... Is this possible? Where do I start?! TIA,  Stu.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you have a new MacBook, then no doubt it will be running a version of MacOS that does not support 32 bits applications anymore. The installer on your CD is 32 bits, so it is not going to work. Forget about Lightroom 6. It is ancient, end of life. If you really do not want a subscription, then Lightroom is not for you. Get some other application to manage your photos, like the free Apple Photos that came with your Mac.

-- Johan W. Elzenga

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you can't deactivate a serial number you have to contact the Adobe support. Only they can reset the activation counter.