• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Which Mac Mini M2 Config for Lightroom Classic?

Community Beginner ,
Feb 07, 2023 Feb 07, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello. I am an amateur wildlife photographer. I often return from an outing with 400-600 RAW full-frame images. My current workflow on a 2015 iMac and 2019 MacBook Pro is too slow. I have on order a Mac Mini M2 w. 16GB memory and 512 GB SSD. Do you think this configuration will be significantly faster using a workflow anchored by LR Classic? Adding the M2 Pro chip is +$300. Thanks in advance for your advice.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Either of the options you mention will significantly out perform your iMac and MacBook Pro.

You may wish to have a look at this Youtube video that compares the M1/M2 and Mac mini https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yx8vMlTGUC8&t=1291s

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

That's a great analysis. I wonder if there's one comparing Photo Mechanic - Capture One - and Lightroom running off the M2 Mini (one at a time, not consecutively.) 🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The video I linked to above includies a segment on Capture One. Sadly and unlike Adobe, the vendor has not yet optimised the application to make best use of the increased number of GPU cores.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines