• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: Working with multiple external drives (PC, WIn10)

Participant ,
Jan 18, 2022 Jan 18, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to adapt my workflow to use Lightroom Classic (on PC/Windows 10) and am facing an issue I suspect others have already solved. As a commercial photographer I've been shooting digital for more than 25 years and have established a file management/backup system that works for me. Client's images are stored on dual (identical) external drives and a 3d copy of the images is stored safely offsite. Major clients get their own pair of drives because of the amount of data their work represents. All files are stored in folders named according to "YYYY-MM-DD_jobDescription".

When I disconnect a drive Lightroom wants to reconnect the same drive to work on the imported images but provides me with only a drive letter and not a drive name which is how I identify the various clients external drives. Is that correct? Is there a preference I'm missing?

If this is normal behaviour then I need a workaround solution before importing the mages. One option would be to create a folder on each drive and name it the same as the drive name and letter (eg. "JoeSmithAgency_E") and then move all the drive's folders into that folder before importing images into Lightroom. Lightroom would then display that folder as the highest Parent and I could then know which drive needs to be connected to access those images.

Does this seem like a sensible solution or is there another method that's more commonly used?

Thanks for any advice 🙂

Russell

Idea No status
TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
25 Comments
Participant ,