• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

DNG File Sizes are Too Big When Exporting.

Community Beginner ,
Oct 15, 2022 Oct 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

Firstly, I am using Lightroom mobile and i have an premium subscription of monthly 40 GB.

I have an iOS app on App Store and I am sharing my presets there as DNG. Since the app size is very important I am trying to reduce my DNG file sizes. However, I could not understand the logic behind DNG file size while exporting.

For example, when I resized my image JPG image to 2400 * 3000, apply my preset and export as DNG file size is around 1-2 MB. I tried to lower or increase my JPG image size but this shows an negative effect to export as  DNG file size jumps to 10-15 MB.

I have seen other applications can share their DNG presets about 200-300 kb without losing image quality. Can you show me a way to decrase DNG sizes for sharing presets? 

Finally, from my research I heard "Lossy DNG compression" but I suppose it requires Lightroom Desktop subscription.

Thank you for reading this far.

Bora.

TOPICS
iOS: iPhone

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Jan 08, 2023 Jan 08, 2023

I found the solution. 

The software "Adobe DNG Converter" is the one I am looking. Now I can select the pixels there and I can maintain my DNG file around 400-600 KB with a good view on my Lightroom Mobile. 

The "Export as DNG" on Lightroom mobile however, is still giving unpredictable DNG file sizes. I dont know why but now I am export my DNG files from mobile to pc. Then I convert them from 5-10 MB to 400-600 KB.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Oct 15, 2022 Oct 15, 2022