• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lr newbie question - What's the basic workflow for modifying a photo?

Explorer ,
Mar 10, 2024 Mar 10, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

Please excuse the stupid question as I'm new to Lr. I've tried some of the introduction tutorials but I'm struggling with the basic workflow. I've had a 'play' with some photos, to adjust settings etc., and it appears that Lr autosaves the photo? I don't know how to revert to the original photo (or how to perform a 'Save As' so that I can experiment with a photo). I'm sure I'm missing something basic and a simple explanation of how it's supposed to work would be much appreciated.

For information, I'm using 'Adobe Photoshop Lightroom' version 7.2 and I have a paid subscription. I'm using a MacBook Pro and the OS is Sonoma v14.3.1.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Mar 12, 2024 Mar 12, 2024

Thanks Jim, now you mentioned it I just noticed the 'named' option on the 'versions' flyout!

Screenshot 2024-03-12 at 19.02.47.png

Easy, now I know where it is. Thanks for you help.

Cheers,

Lee

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Mar 11, 2024 Mar 11, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Perhaps my simple explanations will help-

" it appears that Lr autosaves the photo?"-  No. Lightroom never saves a 'photo' as a new file.  Instead your edit steps are 'saved' in a (hidden) text file in the Lightroom Cloud along with its original photo file. When you want to use your edited image for another purpose (eg. Printing, giving to a friend, etc.) you need to [Export] a derivative which creates a new file with the edits applied.