• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Reduce white background in art sketchbook (actionable)

Community Beginner ,
Jul 07, 2024 Jul 07, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm an artist who often draws in sketchbooks.  I've documented my sketchbooks by taking consistent digital photographs of each sketchbook page.  I have almost 600 images I need to alter at once.  I'm having a hard time finding a good, accurate and repeatable set of commands (through an "action" maybe?) to reduce the gray overcast the photographs have of the sketchbook drawings.  Some of the drawings have very fine line work I need to be mindful of when working with the images as I do not want to distort or lessen the drawing quality.  If anyone can offer some words of advice or suggestions, I would be very grateful.

see below for examples. These images have been reduces from 300 to 72 res for uploading purposes.

Thank you.

002-031.JPG003-039.JPG004-044.JPG006-048.JPG

TOPICS
Actions and scripting , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 08, 2024 Jul 08, 2024

Because your images are captured consistently, a possible simple alternative is to customize the Auto button settings for a Levels or Curves adjustment layer. This would let you brighten the paper white simply by clicking the Auto button, which will apply your customized adjustment.

The steps below are basic. If you want more background about how the options work, read the following article by Bruce Fraser. Although it was written 22 years ago, it still works today. The advice about colors is

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied