• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: Want to change Layer Comps inside a Smart Objects

LEGEND ,
Mar 22, 2012 Mar 22, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a Web Designer and I would like to combine Smart Objects and Layer Comps in my daily workflow more effectively. I would like to select which Layer Comp inside a Smart Object I want to display on the Root Document where it is placed and also store that again in a Layer Comp of the Root Document.

This could allow for example to store the Menu of a Website in one Smart Object but call different active states of this Menu from the Main PSD.

Idea Released
TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 03, 2021 Sep 03, 2021

Votes

Translate

Translate
31 Comments
New Here ,
Jun 30, 2016 Jun 30, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

for what it's worth, an alternate and more convenient workflow for what you describe is to rely on artboards rather than layercomps in the master psd.
page components (header, footer, etc...) as smart object are very useful, but you have to lay out pages states with artboards (thus copying the smart object) if you want to solve the current smart object limitation

Votes

Translate

Translate

New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is also what I have found to be the easiest workflow at the moment. 
Artboards containing smartobject that may contain layer comps for different states.  
Other than that, I am looking forward to seeing what Adobe XD can bring to the table. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied