• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Having a really hard time moving an image

Participant ,
Mar 13, 2019 Mar 13, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not trying to do anything fancy. Let's say I have an image of a meadow and I open a new layer with a bear. So I want to move the bear around. I choose the Move tool, make sure I have the bear layer active and position the cursor over the bear, left click and drag the bear around, right? Sometimes that seems to work; sometimes not. Sometimes I have to hit ctrl-a while I'm in the bear layer and then the move will work the first time, but then when I try it again, the entire canvas moves (instead of just the bear).

I am a total noob so I'm sure I must be doing something wrong. And I kept the above description simple for the sake of trying to keep things simple but in reality I often have several layers open.

I've read the "move and copy selections" from Adobe several times but still can't quite get the hang of it.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 15, 2019 Mar 15, 2019

Was the Auto-select layer box checked by default?  If so, maybe you should uncheck it.  That way, you shouldn't accidentally click a layer by mistake. And if you first click the move tool, then select the layer you want to move in the layer panel, it should remain selected until you select another layer in the panel. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Mar 14, 2019 Mar 14, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do you have the Auto Select Layer box checked for the Move tool? That should help you when you click and drag on an object layer that you want to move around in a larger image.  The Show Bounding Box option also shows a blue outline for the layer so you know what is selected.