Skip to main content
Known Participant
Aug 28, 2026 1:45 PM UTC
Investigating

P: Photoshop 27.10: "Edit in Photoshop" from Lightroom Classic & Lightroom Desktop does not load image with Denoise

Since today’s Photoshop 27.10 update, the “Edit in Photoshop” command in Lightroom Classic 15.5.1 is not working anymore for me. Photoshop opens automatically as before (if it’s not open yet) but no image is being loaded. Downgrading Photoshop to 27.9.1 resolves the issue and the “Edit in Photoshop” functionality is back to normal. I also tried to change the external editing file format from TIFF to PSD or PSB but this didn’t make any difference. Anyone else facing the same issue? 

I’m running macOS Tahoe 26.6.2. Closing and re-opening LRC and PS didn’t solve the problem, rebooting the machine also didn’t show any effect. 

P.S.: I posted this in the Photoshop forum as well

    Pinned Reply By Sameer K

    Hi everyone,

    Thank you for the detailed reports and reproductions here. It has been really helpful in isolating the issue quickly. I’ve filed this for the engineering teamto investigate and prioritize. 

    In the meantime, here are confirmed workarounds:

    • Downgrade to Photoshop 27.9.1 via the Creative Cloud app (Other versions > 27.9.1).
    • Alternatively: Temporarily disable Denoise in Lightroom Classic before sending to Photoshop, then re-apply back in Lightroom, or it using Camera Raw as a filter inside Photoshop.

    We understand this disrupts a core editing workflow and appreciate your patience. We'll update this thread as we have more information.

     

    399 replies

    Participant
    Oct 13, 2026 3:10 PM UTC

    I can confirm that this bug is still present in Photoshop 27.11.

    When I select multiple photos in Lightroom Classic and choose Edit In → Open as Layers in Photoshop, Photoshop freezes and the images do not open.

    The problem occurs in both Photoshop 27.10 and 27.11.

    Downgrading to Photoshop 27.9.1 completely resolves the issue, without changing any other settings.

    My system:

    • Windows 11 Pro

    • NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti 16 GB

    • AMD Ryzen 5 7600X

    • 64 GB RAM

    This is an essential part of my professional photography workflow.

    Please prioritize fixing this regression in the next Photoshop update.

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 13, 2026 3:55 PM UTC

    Gotta wonder when the < Insults removed > are going to fix this. It has been quite awhile and there have been many complaints.

     

    [Mod: Let's be respectful, and if you want "genuine help," then be curteous. and stop your ranting and insulting. Otherwise the appropriate threads will be deleted.]

    Translate
    photophilljk
    Known Participant
    Oct 13, 2026 5:11 PM UTC

    Absolutely ridiculous that this basic function wasn’t tested before release 

    Translate
    Inspiring
    Oct 12, 2026 11:20 PM UTC

    Latest PS Beta and LR…

    Mac OS X Golden Gate 27

    Choosing Edit in Photoshop works intermittently. I choose a RAW on LR and I see the Opening in Photoshop progress bar. It works fine for the first few images but after a while, it stops working.

    It gets stuck about 80% and nothing happens. After like 5 minutes of “trying” I get this message. (edit in Photoshop failed”

    Like I said before, the problem is with RAW files. IF you convert the RAW to DNG it opens right up.

    Also, if you manually go to File > Edit in and Choose PS beta, at first, it shows the App in the finder, but it doesn’t open the file. The second time, it opens ok…

    It’s super weird and I need this to be reliable. I need to work and it slows me down.

     

    Translate
    Inspiring
    Oct 12, 2026 7:50 PM UTC

    Like others, I’ve had this issue for well over a month - thankfully there’s a workaround, but the length of time this is taking to resolve is unacceptable... more so because we’re paying for software which is no longer feature complete. Let’s hope they can magic up a fix which doesn’t break something else before the Christmas and party season begins - or have a I just completely jinxed the whole situation?

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    Oct 12, 2026 1:54 PM UTC

    Same here. Downgraded to 27.9.1 via the Creative Cloud app (other versions menu) and Edit in Photoshop works again — took about 10 minutes. The Denoise toggle workaround is fine for a one-off but painful on big batches. Hoping the fix lands soon.

    Translate
    photophilljk
    Known Participant
    Oct 13, 2026 5:13 PM UTC

    I wonder if the Adobe < Insults removed > have seen the surge of people going backwards in their versions. If this Artcraft Clone of Adobe apps really kicks off it’s going to be a very tempting option

     

    [Mod: Let's be respectful, and if you want "genuine help," then be curteous and stop  insulting.]

     

    Translate
    photophilljk
    Known Participant
    Oct 14, 2026 12:44 PM UTC

    No insults made! 

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    Oct 12, 2026 6:36 AM UTC

    Hi

    after editing a picture in Lightroom I would like to make additional adjustments in Photoshops. I commonly make “Edit in Photoshop 2026”, and Photoshop started showing immediately the picture I wish to modify. After installing the last releases for both applications on my Mac, this does not work: Photoshop starts automatically but the picture does not appear. I reinstalled Photoshop for a while this solved the issue but now It appeared again.

    Many thanks in advance for any suggestions

    regards

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    Oct 12, 2026 6:35 AM UTC

    Hi

    after editing a picture in Lightroom I would like to make additional adjustments in Photoshops. I commonly make “Edit in Photoshop 2026”, and Photoshop started showing immediately the picture I wish to modify. After installing the last releases for both applications on my Mac, this does not work: Photoshop starts automatically but the picture does not appear. I reinstalled Photoshop for a while this solved the issue but now It appeared again.

    Many thanks in advance for any suggestions

    regards

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 12, 2026 5:00 AM UTC

    I have this same issue!

    Translate
    KR Seals
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Oct 9, 2026 11:35 PM UTC
    Ken Seals - Nikon Z 9, Z 8, 14mm-800mm. Computer Win 11 Pro, I7-14700K, 64GB, RTX3070TI. Travel machine: 2021 MacBook Pro M1 MAX 64GB. All Adobe apps.
    Claire H.
    Community Manager
    Community Manager
    Oct 9, 2026 9:03 PM UTC

    Hi ​@Optimistic_amazementb41b, Thanks for reaching out to the Lightroom Classic Community Forum! Let's try a few things to address both of these issues.

    1. Restart the Software: Close and reopen Lightroom to see if the issue persists.

    2. Clear your cache: Go to the top menu and open Preferences (Edit > Preferences on Windows, or Lightroom > Preferences on macOS). Click the Cache tab, then look for the option to Clear Cache or to adjust the maximum size allowed for stored originals and previews. Remember to check if your cloud sync is fully updated and active before clearing space, so you do not lose unsynced work

    3. Reset System Preferences: https://adobe.ly/4o7JADQ

    4. Reapply Noise Reduction: Attempt to apply noise reduction again after ensuring the above steps are completed.

    If none of these steps work for you, let us know, and we can continue troubleshooting. I hope this helps! ^CH

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 12, 2026 1:14 PM UTC

    Hi Claire:

    You are missing a step - There is no “Cache” tab under the “Preferences” Popup Window in the Lightroom Classic Mac OS version. There is a “Camera Raw Cache Settings” under the “Performance Tab” under the “Preferences” Popup Window. I have mine set for 150.0 GB and have clicked on the “Purge Cache” tab. I have done so and it makes no difference in solving this problem. M4 Computer with 64gb Ram on Sequoia 15.8.1. 

     
     
    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 12, 2026 1:21 PM UTC

    The link you provided in Step 3 is also out of date as it states: 

     

    If deleting the Previews.lrdata file does not solve your issue, try purging your Camera Raw cache file. 

    1. In Lightroom, choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows) or Lightroom > Preferences > File Handling (Mac OS).
    2. Click Purge Cache under the Camera Raw Cache Settings.

    There is no “Purge Cache” under the “File Handling” Tab. As stated previously, there is a Purge Camera Raw Cache tab under the “Performance” tab. 

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 9, 2026 5:54 PM UTC

    File raw di Nikon. Computer Apple M4 pro quando applico la riduzione disturbo da giorni mi esce la dicitura:  la modifica è temporaneamente non disponibile e la riduzione del disturbo è minima e non corretta. 

    Inoltre quando voglio trasferire la fotografia da Lightroom a Photoshop con PHOTO MODIFICA IN PHOTOSHOP la fotografia non passa in photoshop

    Translate