Design the future of fashion, win Firefly Pro 👗✨
The official community for FrameMaker.
Recently active
FM 2017 here.I'm having trouble making my quotation marks straight. I click Edit > Preferences > Spelling Options and mark/unmark the Straight Quotes ("), but I get the same results regardless of whether the checkbox is marked or not.I can insert a straight quote using the \x27 code and do a Find/Replace of the existing curly quote but it replaces the curly quote with another curly quote.The only thing that works is Find/Change by pasting.
I am setting up an automatic build environment for our software products using Jenkins. One part of it is the documentation, therefore I am trying to setup framemaker tasks from an API.I am able to:- Create a task using CURL (http request passing the task configuration from an XML template)- Edit a task- Run a taskwhen the user associated with the FMPS application is logged on. For our build automation we configure the necessary tools involved to run as service, without the need to any user to be logged on. And I expected that from a web server as FMPS. I've seen it is possible to configure the Framemaker task in the Windows Task Scheduler to "Run whether user is logged on or not".However I get anyway the response:....* STATE: PERFORM => DONE handle 0x600092e20; line 1980 (connection #1)* multi_done* Connection #1 to host XYZ left intact* Expire cleared<string xmlns="h t t p: // schemas.microsoft.com/2003/10/Serialization/">User "User_XYZ" not logged in. Task could not be run&
… or, "Now you see it, now you don't." Pending the arrival of my nice new TCS, I thought I'd remind myself of how out-of-the-box FM12 displays DITA files. Opened a .ditamap no problem, fairly familiar-looking tree view. Explored. Found a View menu, with two options Structure view … and Document view … Clicked venturesomely on Document view, noticed that despite the ellipsis after the command name there was no farther interaction possible, observed change. Wanted to go back to Structure view: not there! The View menu has changed its position in the menu and offers different commands.I'm sure people familiar with using the structured interface will take this in their stride, but as a new and mildly curious visitor I'd welcome some advice on this single point of switching a .ditamap between structure view and document view. Thanks in advance!
This looks like something related to a useful training course I took a few years ago … didn't go any farther with what I learnt, and now I find I didn't tidy up after myself: my bad. (though I'm fairly confident I'll have backups of anything I changed)symptom: trying to open DITA files in FM12 (structured interface) tells me "Translator client (ditafmx_app) was not found. Operation could not be completed." Fair comment.question: which config file do I need to edit, and what should it say if I want to use out-of-the-box FM?Thanks in advance!
Is there a way in the Find/Change dialog to search for a character tag, capture the corresponding text and use that text in the Change field?
Are Release Notes available for FrameMaker 2019 64-bit Update 15.0.3? I'd like to become familiar with what's been fixed or enhanced. Thank you!
Hi all,I have been a framemaker user for years on and off. I want to use the MIL-STD 40051-1C/2C DTD. How do I configure FM 2017 to use the dtd and stylesheets.I have downloaded all required files from: https://pubsweb.redstone.army.mil/DTD-FOSI/Webpages-60/ALLDTDs-AMCOM.html I can't import or start using them. I don't even know if FM 2017 can use the mil spec style guide anymore. Can somebody help explain how I would go about using the mil spec structure to write technical manuals? I need work packages. PMCS, operator work packages. Please help! I am using the structures already built into framemaker. I am just not happy with the output. I want more of a military style workpage for maintenance procedures. I have used FM with this mil spec before, but somebody else had already configured FM to use mil spec as a template. So I am at a new company and want to produce nice technical manuals. I have searched the web and have found nothing all day, I tried various methods from other users t
I am working in a 2019 Structured Framemaker book with Arabic and English text. The book and text are set to read right-to-left for Arabic, however, I need to make the Registered trademark symbol appear on the right side of the English Brand names for which I am unable. Are there any tips and tricks out there?
I am creating a document with a lot of images in it, and I have been putting them in anchored frames set to "Below Current Line". Is there a way to adjust the spacing / gap between the paragraph above and the anchored frame? I know that I can make the anchored frame oversized compared to the image, but it would be nice to be able to have a consistent amount of spacing between the paragraph and the image.
Hi Folks,I hope this is the correct forum...I'm working with structured Framemaker2015 on xml files. The header of the files looks are as follows:<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE concept PUBLIC "-//OASIS//DTD DITA Concept//EN" "technicalContent/dtd/concept.dtd" []><concept id = "id15AMAG00PY6" xmlns:ditaarch = "http://dita.oasis-open.org/architecture/2005/"><title>...Sometimes, for batch processing and special operations, I use powershell commands which fail due to a non-breaking space, anywhere in the files.A good solution seems to declare it in the header:<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE concept PUBLIC "-//OASIS//DTD DITA Concept//EN" "technicalContent/dtd/concept.dtd" [<!ENTITY nbsp "&#160;">]><concept id = "id15AMAG00PY6"...Is there a way to make Framemaker write this declaration when editing the files? Is this to be implemented in the read/write rules? Which documentation do you
In FM2017, when you clicked on a search result in HTML5, the text would highlight in the body of the document.In FM2019, this no longer seems to occur, has anyone else seen this? Is there a new hidden setting somewhere?
I have a big document where I need to find all text which has been formatted in bold. The "bolded" does not have a character style applied though and that is what I need to do. I need to find all instances of text which is bold and apply a character style which makes the text bold.I can't figure out a way to search for bold text only and I can't find a script which will help me either.Any suggestions for this task?
Thanks
I’ve finally got management approval to migrate from FM12 to an FM2019 subscription! so I’m filling in forms for our in-house Support Centre, and I need to be sure they know: basics like RAM / disk space requirements for the corporate (Windows 7 Pro) laptop special requirements such as ‘needs Internet access to validation server’I didn't immediately spot this sort of information on the Adobe site, so I've sent them an enquiry – but though I'd ask around among real users as well.For myself, I'd appreciate your advice on any gotchas that might trip me up if and when I can take this leap forward :-}Thanks in advance!
Was there a FDK for version 5 of FrameMaker - Windows?I see a reference to a version 5.5 on CNET, but I need the one for version5 - Windows 3.1
I’m brand new to FrameMaker, and I’m hoping there’s a better way to select a font than scrolling down the lengthy listbox. I have probably several hundred fonts installed, and scrolling down to find the one I want takes way too much time. Please take a look at how Photoshop does it, using combo box with auto completion, and please consider implementing the same thing in FrameMaker.
I have an IPB, Illustrated Parts Breakdown, similar to a military RPSTL, which has a graphic on one page, with table of parts on the next page, then repeated several times. In one place, there's a blank page in between the graphic and the table that I would like to remove. If I delete the line that's at the top of the blank page, instead of moving the table below it up, the graphic below that table moves up. Any idea why?
I'm making a UI for my Framemaker script in which I have 21 checkboxes. I have 2 buttons, Select All, and Deselect All, which I want use to programmatically check and uncheck all the boxes. However, in the buttons currently do absolutely nothing. Code in my .onClick functions isn't getting executed at all. $.writeln ("test1"); isn't printing anything to the console.var myWindow = new Window ("dialog"); var BG = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "BG_Bulgarian"); //1 var CS = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "CS_Czech"); //2 var DA = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "DA_Danish"); //3 var DE = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "DE_German"); //4 var ES = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "ES_Spanish"); //5 var FI = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "FI_Finnish"); //6 var FR = myWindow.add("checkbox", undefined, "FR_French"); //
The SVG image is created by combing a screenshot (SnagIt) with text callouts in a Visio file, then exporting to SVG.This worked fine in FrameMaker 2017.Now when I import the SVG, almost all the text and lines I added are moved to the right of where they are in the Visio file. The only exception to this is a small piece of text that is not directly on the screenshot. Instead of being on the far right, where I placed it, it is now on the extreme LEFT.I have created two screenshots using a screen capture of Adobe's Creative Cloud desktop app that is doing the same thing. If anyone has any advice, I'd appreciate it.BAD:Original:
I am setting some row properties and no matter what I have tried - they do not get applied.I have the table row available in the oRow object. First I tried setting the row start position directly:oRow.RowStart = Constants.FV_ROW_TOP_OF_COL;If I call Table > Format > Row Format the dialog shows that the Top of Column setting is set. It is just not activated - the row remains where it is.I tried to set the property via SetProps as follows:var oaProps = oRow.GetProps( );var i = GetPropIndex( oaProps, Constants.FP_RowStart );var oProp = oaProps;oProp.propVal.ival = Constants.FV_ROW_TOP_OF_COL;var oaNewProps = new PropVals;oaNewProps.push( oProp );oRow.SetProps( oaNewProps );Same result - the property is set (as showing in the Row Format dialog) but not activated. Does anyone know how to make this work ?By the way, I first tried to use EDD rules to force the row to the top of the column via an attribute value - that does not work either.
I am having issues opening ExtendScript Toolkit CC on Mac OS. It was working one day, and then two days later stopped working. I'm using it with After Effects as well. I tried opening it manually, and it still didn't work. I tried to uninstall and re-install it, and nothing worked. I can't open any files that are involved with the ESTK. I ran my computer in safe mode, but there were still issues with it. I changed the permissions with it. No one else in my class is having this issue. Does anyone have any solutions?
The latest not-quite-like-anything-before project to arrive at my desk was proved to be an ideal occasion to go back to MML: the styleset required is minimal, so I'm letting the developers experiment with writing their own tagged text. They like that sort of thing. The related question I have is, how long has MML been around? I'm pretty sure there it was there in FM5.5 when I first discovered my favourite documentation environment.
We have used single column tables for multi-sheet figures since FrameMaker was owned by FrameMaker (been doing this a while). The title is set to below table and the table sheet variable is used to count sheets. Title never gets separated from the graphic, sheet count is always accurate. Always has worked well. So well that we have import scripts to enter graphic control number into a dialog without navigating the File>Import path.Two weeks ago we upgrade from 2015 to 2019. Viola! We find that FrameMaker scales imports into a table to the height of the row. No option to scale or not to scale. This is a problem. A bit confusing until troubleshooting what was happening. If we insert an anchored frame first, the illustration comes in at 100%. If we let Frame do it, scaling can be so small that it is a negative percentage (how that's possible is anyone's guess). All that to ask this question, does anyone have a better method for multi-sheet figures? If not, we will have to go to a two s
Hi there,Ever since I installed Office365 on my laptop (which was a company requirement) I have not been able to generate PDFs in FrameMaker12 for a book. I believe the Office365 update is the issue, as I was able to generate PDFs for books before that (however, only with RGB ticked).I've got Windows 7 and FrameMaker 12.0.4.445.Is there any patches/software that I should be looking for, that may be required and that may have been removed with the Office365 update?Adobe Acrobat Distiller DC has been generating the PDFs (and yes I know one of the forums say that FrameMaker12 only supports Acrobat Distiller XI; however, I have not had any issues generating PDFs with the DC version until now + I'm still able to use it to generate the individual files).Has anyone had similar issues?I would appreciate any help!!Kind regards,Jannica
Looking for a way to change the table format (drop down list in the Table Designer) via scripting. Does anyone know what the Fcode for some 'Apply Table Format' command is? I have no idea what the command would be called like, so GetNamedCommand will not help me here. Should I use SetProps on the TblFormat instead? Has anyone done this before?
Remix with Firefly Community Gallery
Thousands of free creations to fall in love with and remix in Firefly.
Already have an account? Login
Enter your E-mail address. We'll send you an e-mail with instructions to reset your password.