Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Volume licensing of Reader DC when installed via PDQ Deploy or Desktop Central

New Here ,
Jul 10, 2019 Jul 10, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am an IT admin for the company I work for.   Some of our end-user employees use Reader.  We wanted to by default install this software on new computers we assign to users, but our company lawyer does not like a certain provision of the Volume Distribution License for Reader, therefore we have to direct our users to Adobe's website to download/install the software instead of the IT Department installing it on new computers for users.    We are not redistributing outside of our company in any way.  Only getting it installed on employee workstation computers.

I got to thinking though.  What about system administration products out there like PDQ Deploy, Desktop Central, Ninite, etc which allows an admin to automatically take the prepackaged app and deploy it to a computer on their LAN, and keep that product updated?   For those products, I don't we would technically be downloading Reader and providing it to users.  Those products either come with it or you click a button that goes and downloads the master copy which can be deployed.    To me it looks like PDQ/Desktop Central/Ninite are the ones downloading and distributing the software.  I just tell them what machines to send it to.

Have the companies behind those products gone through the volume distribution license process and therefore we can use those products without having to go with any special licensing ourselves?

Based on the licensing for Reader DC, to be on the up and up, do we need to in anyway license anything with Adobe or do anything to be compliant if I installed the software via one of these utilities?

Thanks.

TOPICS
Acrobat

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines