• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Book Cover Background Colors Muddy in KDP Print (via Ai created PDF)

Explorer ,
Dec 08, 2019 Dec 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So obviously, I'm a newbie at Illustrator and really need some expert advice.

By hook and by crook, I got far enough to make my own book cover in Ai. But I'm having trouble with my background colors shifting to an amber/muddy hue when file goes to KDP Printer. Here's what it looks like in Illustrator with the screenshot of the PDF of same file in Acrobat Reader. Notice it's getting a tinge of orange as soon as it's saved as a PDF (which is the format KDP requires).

Screen Shot 2019-12-08 at 9.43.19 AM.png

Then, when I upload to Amazon's KDP Print, the KDP previewer shows the colors getting noticeably muddy and dull.

Screen Shot 2019-12-08 at 10.09.16 AM.png

Note—this previewer is a fairly accurate predictor of how the printed version will look. See the pic of proof copy below, which got even more brown in tone.

proof copy of book from KDP printer.JPG

My setup:

• I'm working on a MacBookAir running Mojave 10.14.6. Using the updated Illustrated 2020.

What KDP requires to submit my cover to print:
  • a CMYK or RGB single PDF of the cover less than 40MB with flattened transparencies

What I've tried so far:

•  I've tried setting Color Mode to both RGB and CMYK before creating the PDF. Both look fine up until I upload to KDP Print when they turn muted and muddy.
  • I've tried changing the Color Settings without fixing the problem. Perhaps I'm missing the right combination? Currently set to:

Screen Shot 2019-12-08 at 10.19.17 AM.png

• Changing the PDF settings when I create the Save Copy as PDF hasn't yet fixed it either. Again, maybe I'm missing the right combo. Here were the settings I used: