• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

[Locked] How do I get a transparent background in my Illustrator file?

New Here ,
Jul 02, 2010 Jul 02, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm relatively new to Illustrator, (I'm working in CS4) and created a corporate logo for one of my clients.  When I place the logo into Photoshop or InDesign, the logo is in a white box.  How can I make the background transparent in the original Illustrator file?

Views

1.6M

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 27, 2011 Oct 27, 2011

Illustrator >> View >> Show transparency grid

You will see a checkerboard pattern showing you where you have tranparency.

Save your .ai fle with pdf compatible and place into InDesign

If you placed as .eps in InDesign you need to

InDesgin>>View >> Display Performace >> High quality Display

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Nov 27, 2015 Nov 27, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

of course there are various reasons for doing things that way. but i think it's people posting stuff about converting to psd or png without any other context like it's the catch-all answer that is frustrating Will.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

, the OP asked about placing the file into Photoshop or InDesign, not about whatever situation you were in that made PNG the only option. There's a definitive answer that should have been marked as such, but has been lost in the noise you're now contributing to: