Welcome Dialog

Welcome to the Community!

We have a brand new look! Take a tour with us and explore the latest updates on Adobe Support Community.

Surviving with a 40GB mobile-only Lightroom plan? Backup strategies? Keeping only smart previews?

New Here ,
May 25, 2021 May 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a subscription for Lightroom mobile with Premium features, which has limited cloud storage (40GB). Since in the normal workflow all original RAWs are uploaded and kept in the cloud, this storage space will fill up very quickly. Assuming that I do not want to upgrade my plan to the 1TB Lightroom Plan or the 20GB or 1TB Photography Plan with Lightroom Classic, the only possibility seems to be to free up some space time to time by downloading RAWs with the applied edits as backups, and then delete them from LR mobile.

It seems that I have 2 options for extracting my RAW files, together with the edits I made, from LR mobile:

1. In LR mobile, I select the images and export them as DNGs. In this case, my original (proprietary) RAWs will be converted to DNG, with all my edits embedded to it. The disadvantage is that (at least, in my case), these DNGs will be ~30% larger than my lossless compressed RAWs, and there may also be other issues related to the RAW to DNG conversion.
  2. On my desktop, I use the free Lightroom Downloader tool, which downloads the original RAWs with xmp sidecar files. It seems, however, that this tool is a brute force downloader with no other option than download your full catalog in a single step, which is a bit inconvenient.

Now my questions: