• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Changing background in Photoshop using Masking

Community Beginner ,
May 11, 2022 May 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to photoshop and im doing an assignment where I have to place two people over a new background using the mask layers. I have watched so many tutorials on how to do this and i have figured out how to do it but everytime i used my brush tool to paint out the background i get this pixel effect instead of the background coming through fully.

97E5DCFD-C339-47BE-9534-BACF1D166484.png

02EAA365-F869-4851-81DC-4E4C272AE0AB.png

 

{Title edited by Moderator} 

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 11, 2022 May 11, 2022

Hi

The forum software is broken which means I can't enlarge your second screenshot but it looks like you are painting with grey.

Make sure your brush is a simple round brush - no additional patterns or textures. Set the colour used by the brush to full black RGB 0,0,0. Ensure opacity is 100% and Flow 100% - don't use pen pressure to control opacity /flow.

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out. We're here to help.

Which brush are you using? Have you changed the brush and tried it? Did you check with a different background?
If you are looking to place a new subject over a background and mask them, I have an easy way to do it.

RanjishaSengupta_0-1652295271937.png

1) Place the subject's layer on top of the background layer.

RanjishaSengupta_1-1652295363969.png

2) Select the subject with the Quick Selection tool or Polygonal Lasso tool.

RanjishaSengupta_2-1652295639173.png