• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: Want to change Layer Comps inside a Smart Objects

LEGEND ,
Mar 22, 2012 Mar 22, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a Web Designer and I would like to combine Smart Objects and Layer Comps in my daily workflow more effectively. I would like to select which Layer Comp inside a Smart Object I want to display on the Root Document where it is placed and also store that again in a Layer Comp of the Root Document.

This could allow for example to store the Menu of a Website in one Smart Object but call different active states of this Menu from the Main PSD.

Idea Released
TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 03, 2021 Sep 03, 2021

Votes

Translate

Translate
31 Comments
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We can't do anything *inside* the smart object. The whole point of Smart Objects is that the child document is a black box (can't see inside) until you explicitly open it and change it.

Votes

Translate

Translate

LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Could you just store previews of the layer comp states? Like a set of tumbnails for the smart object, only of course in full resolution.

How about Smart Objects 2.0 ? 🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate

LEGEND ,
Oct 07, 2012 Oct 07, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It seems like a reasonable request to me.

Layer comps conceptually, from my understanding, are already a method to predefine perspectives into a document. When a user sets up layer comps, they're defining a fixed number of static states in which to view the document.