Exit

Get color from selected area

Community Beginner ,
Jun 14, 2021 Jun 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello.

Please help in solving the following problem:

I need to pick up color with a dropper from a pre-selected randomly shaped area, probably quite small relative to the image and having no known position on the canvas, the current layer.
This needs to be done automatically, without manual clicks.

I haven't found ways to do this in PS itself without human intervention, and I have no experience in scripting, but scripting seems to be the correct solution to the problem. It would be great to have a ready-made script for such an operation.

Thank.

TOPICS
Actions and scripting , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

People's Champ , Jun 14, 2021 Jun 14, 2021

function get_average_color(color)

from here: Auto picking the most distinct accent color from an image

UPD.

Короче. По ссылке - глючная реплика со старого форума, скрипты там все нерабочие.

Вот готовый скрипт.

get_average_color(app.foregroundColor);

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
function get_average_color(color, x, y)
    {
    try {
        if (x != undefined && y != undefined) app.activeDocument.selection.select([[x,y],[x+1,y],[x+1,y+1],[x,y+1]], Sel

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Easy to do, but hard to imagine what you mean by pre-selected randomly shaped area in a document.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For example, the shape of the selection and the position could be like this.