Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help with workflow - Auto-match loudness

Explorer ,
Aug 26, 2022 Aug 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all

I’d like to pick your minds to see if I can improve my workflow, please bear in mind that I am not a professional.

After I complete the edit of my video I spend some time tweaking the sound. One of the tasks I perform is to level the various clips usind Adobe Auto-Match (I’m wearing a lavalier microphone and sometimes clips end up at different levels. I am also using my iPhone to record, so not really a professional production, but decent!)

Now, the auto-match works ok-ish (it keeps crashing!) and levels the volume of the clips nicely. However, when I edit content I often end up with lots of edits, sometimes very small clips. If those clips don’t have a dialogue in it, Adobe will boost the floor noise to the max as it’s trying to level that clip to the reference level.

I now have to make sure that those sections have their volume reset. It’s a time consuming task and I usually miss some.

Is there a way I could change my workflow to avoid that? Or maybe a better way to level my sound.

Any ideas are welcome!

Thank you!

TOPICS
Editing , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 27, 2022 Aug 27, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You might have a look at the Audio Track Mixer. I place all my dialog on the same audio track for each person. And then, use the Audio Track Mixer to add filters and effects to level the audio. Do some searches for tutorials on using Multiband Compressor.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Aug 31, 2022 Aug 31, 2022