• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I am not upgrading from CC 2020

Community Beginner ,
Jun 07, 2022 Jun 07, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been testing for a few weeks 2021 v15.4.5 and 2022 v22.4 in an environment with a high media file turnover. We receive lots of media, check through it and conform it to our chosen standard, and export for transmission. Most videos need captions, but not all.

I cannot upgrade our teams computers beyond CC2020 because Premiere does not do the job we require of it. Captions controls are garbage. 2021 literally undoes changes you make to captions with no warning. 2021 also is crazy laggy with playback and has lots of audio drops and screen freezes during playback, which is the biggest issue with it.

2022 Media Encoder won't recognise MXFs with captions. It says media offline. So if someone is exporting from an MXF filetype they have to do so from Premiere and just sit watching their screen while it happens. Playback is also not as solid as 2020 but it does a better job of keeping up. The 2022 export screen, as many people have said, is just dumb. I basically want to use the same export option every single time, but it defaults me to h264. And the correct timecode selection is "source in/out" which is NAMED WRONG. Source media is not the same thing as timeline program media. Source in out would be the in and out of the... source.

I've been finding workarounds for a lot of the changes between versions, but there are some issues that make the software counterintuitive when our company could just buy a different NLE program and those problems will go away. Thankfully I haven't been experiencing random crashes, which does happen in 2020. So thanks for the stability improvements.